Register & Log in


  • 05/10/2017
  • Invite Only

The global drinks industry’s most anticipated night of the year...


Southwark Cathedral, London Bridge, London, SE1 9DA
Invite Only


Now in its ninth year, The World’s 50 Best Bars provides an annual ranking of bars as voted for by over 500 industry experts from across the globe. The list represents the ultimate international guide to the world’s top bars and drinking destinations.

The World’s 50 Best Bars awards is an evening of international celebration, bringing together the best bartending talent from around the globe. Alongside the live countdown of the list, culminating in the announcement of The World’s Best Bar – a title taken by The Dead Rabbit Grocery & Grog in New York in 2016 – this year’s ceremony will see a range of new accolades introduced.

The Industry Icon Award will honour one of the greats of the cocktail world for his or her lifetime’s work. The One To Watch Award will identify an international rising star bar. The Best New Opening Award recognises the newcomer which has generated the most excitement, while the Bartenders’ Bartender Award goes to an individual nominated by the bartenders on The World’s 50 Best Bars list. These awards join those for Best Bar in North America, Australasia, Asia, Europe, Latin America and Africa & the Middle East respectively, as well as for the Highest New Entry, Highest Climber and Legend of the List.

The voting system for 2017 has been refined to produce a truly global representation of bars and reflect the growth of new cocktail culture in regions around the world. This year, The World’s 50 Best Bars Academy was expanded to over 500 members – made up of bartenders, consultants, drinks writers and cocktail aficionados. Each voter was tasked with choosing their top seven bars, based on personal experience and preference, with a minimum of three of these bars needing to be located outside the voter’s country of residence. The voter must have visited each of the chosen bars within the last 18 months. The list is generated directly from the votes of the Academy members.